Ghostly Haunts

by Jan King
I was the figure watching to see if you would let go or not. Luckily you didn’t.
Death by your own hand is considered selfish in some ways, although I believe it is also
right for some.
It was right for me. Let me start at the beginning. My name is Amber Green. I had always
been fit. My dog and I used to go on long walks, no they were more like treks. I would pack up
sandwiches, a bottle of water and some treats for Sliver and off we would go into the wilds of
Devon.
I wasn’t young but I looked after myself. Then came the devastating news. I certainly wasn’t
expecting this turn of events. I had been feeling very tired of late and quite listless, not my
normal happy self. So I booked an appointment with my doctor. She suggested a blood test
to eliminate certain diseases.
I had the blood test. The upshot of this was that I had a terminal illness. I sat there in the
doctor consulting room dumbfounded. I didn’t know how to react. What should I ask? All sorts of
questions were whirling in my head. Instead I got up, said thank-you to the doctor and went home.
Sliver greeted me at the door. I started to cry. What will I do with Sliver?
Once I had sat down with a cup of tea and digested this information, I thought where do I go from
here. The internet and google. After many hours of research, I knew that I would have to draw up a
schedule.
This would entail finding a home for Sliver, but not until I couldn’t walk a mile unaided that I would
put my plan into action.
I did let go…. hence my ghostly appearance at this place.Black Eyed Angels Swam With Me
4 thoughts on “Ghostly Haunts

  1. Pingback: Tonight I will do it | Written By You

  2. Sad, when life makes us leave the crueler ways. I am no great fan of suicide, still I can respect people preferring to avoid the suffering. It does not cleanse, especially not as propagated by a corpse-part worshiping church, and it hurts and defiles much too many good people…

    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. This is a short, yet deeply thoughtful monologue. I really like it, as it sticks in your head. Even in the brevity of the piece, Jan demonstrates a lot of the narrator’s character and internal struggles. Not a comfortable story, but a really powerful one. Great.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Black Eyed Angels Swam With Me | Written By You

Leave a Reply

